By: Senator(s) Mettetal

To: Judiciary

SENATE BILL NO. 2414 (As Passed the Senate)

- AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 9-19-1, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO ADD A MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGE TO THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL PERFORMANCE; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI:
- 5 SECTION 1. Section 9-19-1, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 6 amended as follows:
- 7 9-19-1. The Commission on Judicial Performance shall consist
- 8 of the following members:
- 9 (a) One (1) circuit court judge to be appointed by the
- 10 conference of circuit court judges;
- 11 (b) One (1) chancellor to be appointed by the
- 12 conference of chancery court judges;
- 13 (c) One (1) county court judge to be appointed by the
- 14 conference of county court judges;
- 15 (d) One (1) justice court judge to be appointed by the
- 16 Mississippi Justice Court Officers Association;
- (e) One (1) municipal court judge to be appointed by
- 18 <u>the Mississippi Municipal Judges Association;</u>
- 19 <u>(f)</u> One (1) practicing attorney to be appointed by the
- 20 governing board of The Mississippi Bar; and
- 21 (q) Two (2) lay persons who shall not be residents of
- 22 the same Supreme Court district to be appointed by the Chief
- 23 Justice of the Supreme Court of Mississippi. One (1) of such lay
- 24 persons shall be appointed from a list submitted by the
- 25 Mississippi Trial Lawyers Association and one (1) of such lay
- 26 persons shall be appointed from a list submitted by the

- 27 Mississippi Prosecutors Association. Each of such lists shall
- 28 contain the names of three (3) or more qualified persons.
- 29 An alternate for each member shall be selected at the time
- 30 and in the manner prescribed for initial appointments in each
- 31 representative class to replace those members who might be
- 32 disqualified or absent.
- 33 SECTION 2. This act shall become effective upon the
- 34 ratification of Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 520, 1999 Regular
- 35 Session, by the electorate in the election held in November 1999.